You probably think I just jumped straight into being pharaoh, but that did not happen. I first served as a regent (kind of like a guardian) for Thutmose the third. I wasn't very satisfied with not having much power, and I did not think Thutmose should have had so much power at such a young age, so I crowned myself pharaoh. I had the help of becoming pharaoh by having the god Amun and the priests full support. When I became pharaoh many were not pleased with having a female rule over them, so I tried to portray a male pharaoh by dressing up like them. I would wear the traditional fake beard, wear the same garments as the male pharaohs, and I would have myself painted looking like a male. I also had to try hard to show everyone who was in charge because many would not listen to a female, so I showed Egypt what I was capable of by building the Deir el-Bahri one of the greatest monuments Egypt had ever seen.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am Hatshepsut great and powerful leader of ancient Egypt. I achieved being the first female pharaoh, which I am pretty proud of! I love to build monuments for my kingdom and trading with a land called Punt. I just wanted to write this blog to show you how life was for me back in ancient times. Please read my blog!
    Sincerely,
    Hatshepsut

    Archives

    March 2013
    February 2013

    Categories

    All