Another grand monument I built was the Karnak Temple. It was built as a religious temple. The Kanark temple was built mostly out of granite blocks taken from Aswan. I also had imported from Aswan 185ft red granite cylinders. The cylinders were covered in gold and weighed 450 tons each. These cylinders where taken back to my home, Egypt on the Nile river. To get the cylinders back to home for the Kanark temple it required 27 ships and 850 oarsmen. It was  pretty hard to do since when I ruled the technology was your hands. I proved to many that day that women were just as good as being pharaohs as guys, but this just annoyed Thutmose the third greatly.

A picture on one of the obelisks of Hatshepsut commanding a servant



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am Hatshepsut great and powerful leader of ancient Egypt. I achieved being the first female pharaoh, which I am pretty proud of! I love to build monuments for my kingdom and trading with a land called Punt. I just wanted to write this blog to show you how life was for me back in ancient times. Please read my blog!
    Sincerely,
    Hatshepsut

    Archives

    March 2013
    February 2013

    Categories

    All